how facebook and linkedin work together

My Facebook profile now has a link to my LinkedIn profile, and vice versa.

More and more, I am making business contacts through Facebook. I haven’t started arranging social events through LinkedIn yet…

LinkedIn vs Facebook?
LinkedIn is better at showing me details of a person’s work history, and how I am connected to them. Facebook is better at showing me how someone is connected to various groups or people I don’t know but would like to.

How they work together
Case in point- on Facebook I joined the Web Strategy group, because I read about it on Jeremiah’s blog. On the discussion board for that group, I left a few comments, and then browsed some of the other people in that group. I saw one firm that looks like a potential business partner, so I looked at the guy’s Facebook profile and clicked over to his LinkedIn profile to see who he was. Convinced that talking to him was worthwhile, I facebooked him (sent him a message via facebook) which he returned within a few minutes. After a few messages back and forth, he recommended that I talk to his CEO, who is also on facebook.

Play by play
Catch all that? Here it is again:
1. Jeremiah’s Blog
2. Jeremiah’s Web Strategy Facebook group
3. Web Strategy Facebook group discussion forums
4. Interesting person’s facebook profile
5. Same person’s LinkedIn profile
6. (scope out company website)
7. back to facebook to message them
8. messages back and forth
9. facebook message to CEO of that company

The only trouble is that my Facebook profile is built for my friends and college networking, not business networking, so I need to spruce it up a bit. As Ian says, this is what transparency really means…

2 Responses to “how facebook and linkedin work together”


  1. 1 Jeremiah Owyang July 19, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Hah! Ok, yes they can work together. Or is it just that you’re a savvy web user?

  2. 2 brianatportent July 19, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    I wonder what facebook would have to offer for me to not use LinkedIn- perhaps a way to import and edit my linkedin profile from facebook, so i could use it for everything.


Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

