calling all marketers

You may want people to call you. They may not want to- maybe fax, or email, or just dropping by is more comfortable for them.

Unless you are willing to lose them as a customer, you should engage them in the way they want to be engaged.

2 groups of people who do this poorly:

Telemarketers
They want to interrupt someone at the office. I say they can email the person. They don’t.

Companies that share only their email address, not a phone number
Google. Yahoo. Everyone else. Sometimes, I just want to call.

Don’t waste my time by trying to interact with me in a way you know I don’t want. That’s all I’m asking.

5 Responses to “calling all marketers”


  1. 1 Linda June 18, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    We all seem to do this poorly when it comes to intergenerational communications…or at least we make assumptions.

    I find that twenty- and thirty-somethings often much prefer electronic means, be it email or IM. Fifty- and sixty-somethings often prefer the phone.

    That means if you are interacting with a prospect or client, asking how *they’d* like you to get back to them may be a great idea.

    And mixing it up from time to time might help you stand out. If everyone else is e-mailing, a hand-written note will get someone’s attention.

  2. 2 KermitFan June 20, 2007 at 11:57 am

    Seems to me that if telemarketing was so ineffective, it wouldn’t be a booming industry… With that said, we need to be cognisant of our audience’s preferences in communication methods. Perhaps some of us prefer to speak on the telephone or in person vs. e-mail/online. Personally, I find discussion to be a lot more effective than online interactions… but I also know that I have to adapt to my audience and use other mediums as well.

  3. 3 brianatportent June 20, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Linda, I completely agree.

    Kermitfan, I also find calls to be more effective- but I hate being interrupted. It doesn’t matter what you are trying to sell me- if I you call and demand to speak to me (vs. taking down an email address I give you and then going away) then you are saying that whatever you want to discuss is more important that what I am doing right now.

    There’s my beef.

  4. 4 Linda July 15, 2007 at 9:09 am

    AHA! The idea that if someone calls you have to answer the phone is one worth considering. Just as email lets you choose when to respond, voicemail can as well.

    Having phone-free periods of the day may be an option. And starting the call with ‘Is this a good time or can we set a phone appointment to talk later?’ is a time-honored way to be sure I don’t jump in when not wanted.


  1. 1 Marketing Your Store Effectively » Franchise Opportunities: The Franchise Advice Blog Trackback on June 19, 2007 at 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

