geek dinner in seattle

What I love about being alive right now:

I heard about Hugh having a Geek Dinner in seattle tonight. I told my housemate, who works for a tech company, and my boss may also come. We’ll all sit in a pub, eat and drink and share stories. I hope Hugh tells more stories about how he promotes Stormhoek wine, because he has done a great job of that. And maybe we’ll tell some war stories.

And you know what? This is not unusual, some flash of lightning in Seattle. These kinds of things happen all the time. When some blogger you like comes to town, why wouldn’t you have dinner with him and a bunch of other geeks?

I love seattle, I love the tech community, I love the connecting power of blogging.

(Oh, and I love Scribefire as well, because I am writing this from a Firefox plugin that drastically reduces the time required to make a post. open source happiness!)

4 Responses to “geek dinner in seattle”


  1. 1 KermitFan May 4, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    I was fortunate enough to hear Hugh speak yesterday at the AMA MarketSmart event. It was highly entertaining and very insightful. I am even more fired up about the power of blogging after hearing the Stormhoek story.

    I hope that you went to the Geek Dinner, Brian, as it would have been fascinating to talk to Hugh.

    Perhaps we should compare notes?

  2. 2 brianatportent May 4, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    The geek dinner is tonight! You should come!

  3. 3 KermitFan May 7, 2007 at 7:29 am

    I couldn’t make it — how was the geek dinner?

  4. 4 brianatportent May 7, 2007 at 7:57 am

    IT WAS GREAT!!! Geeks everywhere. Apricot beer (doesn’t taste link beer at all, thank goodness. Even a few women.

    Seattle is a very small place. I had been corresponding with some of the guys there without knowing who they were- “Wait, what was your name again?”

    And Hugh is going to ship me some wine. Yeah!


Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

