plaxo- net research

How I conduct net research:

Step 1: get an update from someone I know asking me to update their Plaxo address book. Do so.
Step 2: Get interested. Contemplate asking Ian if he has used Plaxo.
Step 3: Google Plaxo sucks to find downsides of service.
Step 4: Find this laudatory post from Lifehacker, and read the negative comments.
Step 5: Decide against Plaxo.

Total time: 5 minutes.

UPDATE: A Plaxo guy called me out on using 5 minutes to judge the quality of a service, and I answer him here.

6 Responses to “plaxo- net research”


  1. 1 Wendy Piersall May 3, 2007 at 8:24 am

    LOL!

    Actually, I hate to say it, but it is friends who are spamming people, not Plaxo. Although it’s only because your friends aren’t paying attention to the rather easy-to-miss checkbox that asks you if you want to send out notifications to everyone or not.

    I like it because it tracks people when they move to a new company – and I have lots of gypsy friends!

  2. 2 brianatportent May 3, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Well Wendy, I am happy that I am important enough for you to spam me…

  3. 3 Wendy Piersall May 3, 2007 at 9:43 am

    Oh – you got me good on that one!

    Actually, I spent about an hour before I sent that out, deleting old contacts and culling my update request list. So indeed, you weren’t spammed – I really do want your full contact info! 😉

  4. 4 terry chay May 4, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    Interesting point. Thanks for the observations.

    Here is my take.


  1. 1 The Woodwork » Blog Archive » Plaxo is evil. Plaxo is spam. Trackback on May 4, 2007 at 12:07 pm
  2. 2 plaxo sucks- not true! « All For You by Brian Keith Trackback on May 4, 2007 at 12:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

