so that’s how you use launchy

UPDATE: As of August 15, this post is #1 in Google for ‘how to use launchy.’ Want to know more about SEO and blogs? Email me at brian@portentinteractive.com

Launchy is a handy dandy application launcher. To start Firefox, instead of clicking on an icon, I open Launchy with ALT-SPACE, and then type ‘fire’, and the ENTER. This starts Launchy.

It can start anything on your computer.

I am cleaning up my desktop today, and wondering what really needs to be there, vs. what can be archived. And it hits me: NOTHING really needs to be there, as I access almost everything by Launchy, not by clicking on the icon.

When you use [ ALT-SPACE ‘ac’ ENTER ] to launch your action list, it doesn’t matter that you can see it on your desktop. Same with Thunderbird, Firefox, Trillian…

So why have anything on your desktop at all?

I have Recycle Bin, which I haven’t figured out how to remove yet, my Calendar folder, Client folder, and Odds and Ends. That’s it.

And this picture to help me stay focused.

Goodbye cluttered desktop!

0 Responses to “so that’s how you use launchy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

