#4 for brian keith- seo timing and site design

Now that I am #4 for Brian Keith in Google, I can’t very well stop there, can I?

Still to beat: Wikipedia, IMDB, and Frank’s Reel Reviews.

But I haven’t been blogging

Here’s the thing- I have been blogging very rarely the past month, and now I am rising. This shows that you can’t make a change one day and see results the next. SEO is a long term deal, and if you are not willing to wait for results, you shouldn’t be playing.

But it’s ugly

Also, SEO may require you to make your site less pretty. Just now I changed the title from All For You, which I like, to All For You by Brian Keith, which sounds narcissistic and no fun. But, I bet I will be #3, and maybe higher, as a result of this change.

Would you rather have the prettiest site, or the one that brings in the dollars? Ian always says that the designers want an image-only design, while the SEO people want a page of only text.

You have to decide

You as the decision maker have to decide the balance. For now, the coolness (and proof that I know something about what I am talking about) of being #1 for my name is more important to me that the aesthetic appeal of a clean, simple headline.

The balance between aesthetics and high rankings is up to you.

2 Responses to “#4 for brian keith- seo timing and site design”


  1. 1 KermitFan April 12, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Okay, so here’s a devil’s advocate question: why would you optimize for your name, Brian Keith, when you’re competing with a deceased but famous actor? Wouldn’t that imply that the people that are searching specifically for you, Brian Keith, would already know your name (err, brand)? Isn’t it equally important to get the people who are searching for crazy-good SEO professionals? Why not optimize for those terms instead?

  2. 2 brianatportent April 13, 2007 at 7:30 am

    Kermit, good question.

    First, my goal is not to attract new business for our company- I would want to optimize for other keywords for that, as you point out.

    My goal for being #1 for Brian Keith is to show clients that we know what we are talking about, and also to show the power of blogging.

    And, to show the lesson about design vs. high rankings, which is really quite an important discussion to have.

    Brian


Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

