my media production; response to david thulin

David Thulin responds to the Media Consumption Diet question by asking what media we produce. I will follow his format.

Email
Yesterday I sent about 40 emails, maybe half of them internal to our company, about half to clients, and a few to other people.

Blogging
I write on average once a day during the week. I leave a comment or two per day on average, though the way it really works is that once a week I use my lunchtime to read and comment on blogs. My posts are a bit on the long side, but not by much.

Video/Audio/Research
I don’t do any of this for public consumption.

Facebook
I import my blog into facebook, and I write notes and scribble on friends’ walls. This is mostly public media production.

Comparing this with my media consumption diet and my social consumption diet, it becomes clear that I take in a great deal more than I produce.

Is that good? Bad? If it were the case that I take in a lot of information and output only quality, then I would look favorably on this imbalance.

What do you think, Jeremiah and Ian?

7 Responses to “my media production; response to david thulin”


  1. 1 David Thulin February 28, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    The comparison is really interesting – thank you for thinking of this. I believe that I, as you, consume way more than I produce. I wonder what that means – what type of person produces more than they consume? Does anybody?

    If one were to consider the time consumption factor for media creation/consumption I expect them to be closer together, at least in my case. I mean, it is easier to quickly read 10 blog posts than it is to create 10 blog posts!

  2. 2 brianatportent February 28, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    I think it is a filtering thing. I input from everywhere I find relevant, and output only what I think my coworkers/clients HAVE to know. I try to use my time to save their time.

    A while ago a client asked about podcasting. So I asked Jeremiah, and then posted his answer, so for anyone else, they should just look there for Podcasting 101. A time saver for sure.

    I am less sure of how my more day-to-day filtering efficiency is.

  3. 3 Linda March 1, 2007 at 8:13 am

    I appreciate that Brian filters for me. Producing less than consuming makes total sense if your goal is to filter for your readers.

    In business, it is almost always a good idea to know more than you share…to have more depth than you need to provide to your clients.

  4. 4 David Thulin March 1, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    I am thinking that the function that filtering has for easing media consumption, there are functions for easing media creation as well.

    Like iMovie, blogging directly from Flickr/YouTube, one click posting via WordPress etc.

    I wish I didnt have to type as much – I wish I could simply think words and have them appear.

  5. 5 brianatportent March 1, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    So how savvy are you/we regarding media consumption as compared to media creation?

    I’d say I am decent at the former but not savvy about media production.

  6. 6 David Thulin March 1, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    Agreed. I too am much better at consuming. But I wish that wasn’t the case – I believe that in many cases it is much more gratifying to create than consume.

    Next step? A top 10 list of media creation life-hacks, right? Streamlining the process of creating quality content and media – and I do not even know where to start…

    Connecting my WordPress installation with my Flickr and YouTube account was a good move.

    Any ideas?


  1. 1 media creation hacks « All For You Trackback on March 2, 2007 at 3:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

