rei: outstanding customer service

Time to pick climbing shoes on Monday: 1.5 hours.

Time to wear climbing shoes around the house and discover they are too small: 3 hours

Time to find shoes a half size bigger at REI, try them on and walk around: 10 minutes

REI Logo

Once I got to the cash register, from the time I put the two shoe boxes and receipt down until I was walking away with my new shoes: less than one minute.

I didn’t note her name, but the woman working the cash register at 7:20pm Tuesday February 20th at the Tukwila REI made an impression on me. Customer service should be that easy. Thank you REI.

(Now we see if REI is paying attention to what blogs are saying about them. I would like to see a comment saying “Thanks Brian for commenting on our service. Her name is Julie and we have passed on your experience to her and her manager” or something like that. It is easy to understand that you have to pay attention to bad press, but how well are you paying attention to good press?)

3 Responses to “rei: outstanding customer service”


  1. 1 Rob February 22, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Brian,

    I work in customer service/frontline at the Raleigh, NC REI store. I found your blog entry, and was very pleased that you recieved such good service πŸ™‚ Great sustomer service is an incredibly important aspect of everything we do at REI, and I encourage you to shop at your local store more frequently! After all, you can’t go wrong with a 100% satisfaction guarantee πŸ™‚

    — Rob

  2. 2 brianatportent February 22, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Thank you Rob. Do you happen to know whether REI monitors blogs regularly? When you found this post, was that part of monitoring blogs, or just you looking around at what people are saying about your company?

    -Brian

  3. 3 Anxious March 13, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    I too work CS at an REI. It’s hard to please everyone all the time but we try. I just happened to be searching, nothing official. Stepping on toes will get you blacklisted and in a promote-from-within culture you have to be careful… I think it’s against the labor contract to post anything about REI online (I’m new so I could be wrong)


Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

