my bio

So WSU wants a bio for my talk.

“Brian Keith graduated in August 2006 in Entrepreneurship, with one failed small internet venture and one successful small internet venture under his belt. In June, he was nearing graduation, and faced with the decision to start an internet marketing company or go to work for someone in the industry, Brian chose to start his own company. Except, his first client, who had verbally agreed to contract with him, didn’t. So he found his way in to Portent Interactive, one of the top small internet marketing agencies in Seattle, where he is currently the Client Services Manager. He is coming to Pullman on January 29th to share his experiences with how to find a job in the industry, and will be detailing the 4 top companies in Seattle. Designers, developers, marketers- anyone who wants in on internet marketing, come listen to someone who has made it happen. Oh, and he is hiring.”

Any feedback?

3 Responses to “my bio”


  1. 1 brianatportent January 10, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Ian commented that I should leave out the “Except, his first client, who had verbally agreed to contract with him, didn’t” part, and just say “It was a learning experience.” I like it. All mysterious.

  2. 2 Kimberly January 10, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Looks pretty good… try eliminating some of the ‘and’s…. let the comma do the work for you…. for bio’s I will read it out loud… think about listening to someone that says ‘and um’ a lot…. bugs you doesn’t it? I also agree with Ian 😉

    Just for clarification…. is this a bio only OR a bio talk intro… seems to be both the way you wrote it…. if intended to be both I might play with it some more… just ask…

  3. 3 brianatportent January 10, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    This is the bio they will use to promote my talk, and I imagine some version of it will be used for my intro, which will also include more about what I did at WSU, as in awars and things. Good comma use?

    Also, you should put in a URL when you comment, so people reading this can visit your site… what was it again?


Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

