the new etiquette, or, how to meet people in the age of blogs

Used to be, back when I was a youngin’, you could call someone, meet them in person, email them, or fax them. Or ask someone you knew to do any of those.

There are some rules of etiquette for all that. As in, don’t call someone you don’t know and try to pitch your product. Yes, there is an industry built around doing just that, but as a person in business, I try to shy away. No spam.

I do occasionally cold-email someone, but I don’t just say “hire us” or “hire me” unless I think I have some connection with them and some value to offer them.

Enter blogs. Now, in order to put a friend in touch with a guy I know only through blogs, I made a post giving my friend’s email address and linking to Jeremiah.

Now I know Jeremiah would see that link and check out the post immediately.

I would probably not have emailed Jeremiah and said, talk to my friend. It clashes a bit with my sense of being polite, and seems a bit too much like spam.

But by linking to someone who I know looks at all incoming links, isn’t that the same thing as emailing him?

I am on uncertain ground here. Anyone care to provide some direction?

1 Response to “the new etiquette, or, how to meet people in the age of blogs”


  1. 1 Amber November 17, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    I don’t think that’s spam… it’s similar to posting up a flier among tons of other fliers, but posting it there instead of placing in their mailbox/on their door because you know they’ll look there too. But, that’s just my opinion. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

