connecting with people in business

Yeah, I know Kristen at BlogHer because of our business relationship- I want to place ads, she does that, so I know her.

And that is enough for a basic level of caring and trust. Yes, I want her to be happy so she places my ads right.

But it is having met her in person at the Blog Business Summit reception, knowing that she is new in her job as am I, knowing her baby’s name and getting to recommend baby books- this is why I care about her.

Every chance you get, turn your clients into people. Turn your vendors into people. Find out what is going on in their life. Ask them about the weather.

It is so much more fun to do business with people I care about than with clients or vendors I don’t know.

Wondering about my blog title, All For You? Here you go- when I know you and care about you, I can say that I will do whatever I can to make you happy. Everything I do- it’s all for you.

6 Responses to “connecting with people in business”


  1. 1 Linda November 2, 2006 at 3:18 am

    Next step…remembering all the interesting things you learn about people. That is not just so you can artificially remember to ask about the baby, but so you can pick up conversations where you left off. Even if the conversation continues a few months from now.

    We are looking for a good ‘contact management’ software that will give us an easy way to keep track of these personal things as well as business things with multiple contacts within companies contacted by multiple contacts in my company.

    How are you keeping track of these great tidbits?

  2. 2 Kristin November 2, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    Now I’m going to have that Brian Adams “Everything I do, I do it for You” song stuck in my head all day.

    This is a very true tidbit. Thanks for it!

  3. 3 brianatportent November 2, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    There is actually a song called All For You- I don’t know who did it originally, I just have an a capella cover.

    “…enough to prove, it’s all for you”

  4. 4 Kimberly November 2, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    …Somewhere More Familiar (1997) is Sister Hazel’s second studio album. Although it only peaked at #47 in the U.S., it has gone platinum selling over a million copies. “All For You” is Sister Hazel’s biggest hit to date, hitting #11 on the Billboard Hot 100. …. although I think that Blues Traveler also recorded that song…..

    I can’t agree more….. ‘connect with people’…. I don’t have the luxury of ‘meeting face to face’ as my clients and vendors are all over the US….. but whenever I get feedback of a client telling ‘the boss’ how great I was/am I can usually connect that not only with ‘excellent service’ as hopefully all of our clients get that but …. I made them laugh and/or somehow made that ‘personal connection’…. sometimes it’s as simple as ‘I remember them’ …. it all comes down to ‘being real’….

  5. 5 brianatportent November 2, 2006 at 10:51 pm

    “Its hard to say what it is I see in you
    Wonder if I’ll always be with you
    Words can’t say, and I can’t do
    Enough to prove it’s all for you ”

    Okay, so not exactly the sentiment I am looking for, but darned close.


  1. 1 and your name was?… « All For You Trackback on November 2, 2006 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

