why wordpress is not good for business blogs

So wordpress does not let users edit the template. In plain English, this means that I can’t add specialized widgets to my blog, say some of the Technorati tagging tools.

This means I can’t optimize the blog by doing all the things I know I should be doing.

So why did I choose wordpress? Easy- my Blogger name was already taken. Of course, when I signed up with wordpress, I assumed the template would be editable- big mistake.

One prof in college called this ‘assumicide’- just because something should be one way, unless you have checked it out, don’t believe it.

So sometime soonish I will be switching to moveable type. $5/month, simple to use. If you are looking to start a blog, look at blogger first- only use something else if your name there is taken.

Of course, you can always buy your own domain name, say at GoDaddy, and that is a better branding move than using one of the generic names (like allforyou.wordpress.com). It is not expensive, less than $20. Sadly, allforyou.com is taken.

UPDATE 2/21/07: Though I wrote this back in October, it still gets tons of traffic. Because Google loves it. And since I have written this, I am still with WordPress.

Intertia mostly. I have a blog area set up on Moveable Type, but I have to build a template for it, whereas I can post here whenever I want. And I have a bit of Google juice- not a lot, but enough to make it a bit painful to move.

Now that I have been blogging for more than 4 months, I would have to recommend Moveable Type as the best software for business blogging. It ain’t free, but it is the best.

Meanwhile I will be on wordpress, where the switching costs are greater than the hassles.

Note also: I now care less about Technorati widgets than about getting Google Analytics installed. I don’t know how accurate the WordPress analytics dashboard is- I would love to test it side by side with Google’s.

12 Responses to “why wordpress is not good for business blogs”


  1. 1 sucharith October 24, 2006 at 7:36 pm

    yeah… i made the same mistake. Any way i can export all the data from wordpress to blogger??

  2. 2 brianatportent October 24, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    I don’t know of any way besides cut & paste, but I have not explored it yet. When I make the switch, I will not be exporting any data. For search engine purposes, technorati purposes, and link purposes, I will leave all my old content where it lies, and link back to it on wordpress like crazy.

  3. 3 Philip L. Welch October 26, 2006 at 12:22 am

    WordPress does let you alter the template. WordPress.com does not. If you have an important blog, seriously, don’t constrain yourself by choosing inferior hosting. Either buy hosting yourself and host a WordPress install on that hosting, or use a premium blog host like Typepad. I use Blogger, but host the actual blog data on my hosting instead of using BlogSpot.

  4. 4 brianatportent October 26, 2006 at 12:27 am

    I will be moving to moveable type as soon as I get around to it. And finding some permutation of allforyou as a domain. Right now, it is not so important.

    Y’all, heed Phil’s words about this. He is one of those guys who speaks fluent computerese.

  5. 5 Philip L. Welch October 26, 2006 at 4:31 am

    I’ve heard pretty bad things about MoveableType. It’s a bear to install and implement, or to edit the template or anything. I’d stick with installing WordPress on your own hosting, for no other reason, than because you can easily import your old posts from here.

  6. 6 magicmarketing November 1, 2006 at 11:24 am

    You can move from WordPress to Blogger extremely simply.

    Check out my blog at http://www.acornservice.blogspot as I’m inspired to write a post on exactly that subject!

    Jim

  7. 7 eyebee November 3, 2006 at 6:40 am

    I started out with Blogger, and soon wanted to find something to put onto my own hosting. I decided to go with Moveable Type, but I got frustrated trying to install it and get it all working and displaying as I wanted = and I’m a web developer!

    I switched to WordPress. 5 min install? Yeah right, pull the other one. But, suprise surprise it was. Now I wouldn’t go back. I’ve got a number of blogs set up now for personal and business use. My hosting company provides an auto-install for WordPress now, which even creates the mySQL database for me.

    It’s not beyond my capability to do that myself, but hey, why not make things easy when you can!

  8. 8 magicmarketing December 18, 2006 at 1:51 am

    I think my main problem is that I actually like the fact that Blogger are with Google which means they’ve a major vested interest in keeping servers going and ensuring enough bandwidth for readers.

    This site is here because I do want to move.

    And Phil you’re quite right, I probably should move everything to my own WordPress installation. As you say Eyebee it’s not that difficult.

    Jim

  9. 9 drmike February 21, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Also, just for reference, Technorati picks up on the categories here that you use. You don’t need a seperate tagging system.

    But if you really want one, Lorelle worked out a method for doing this a while back.

    Maybe assuming that the answer is ‘no’ to your question isn’t a good idea either. 🙂

  10. 10 brianatportent February 21, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks drmike and others who have commented. I have updated this post in homage to the attention it is still getting 4 months later.

    -Brian

  11. 11 justinf April 25, 2007 at 7:23 am

    there’s a big downside to hosting your own installation of wordpress – YOU have to take care of security and combat the comment spammers out there.

    at least with a hosted service, like blogspot, you dont need to worry about that – google does.


  1. 1 news, search terms, and search engines « All For You Trackback on November 1, 2006 at 1:02 am

Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

