kinko’s part two: how it should be

I went to Kinko’s this morning (7:10am), expecting to fight with them to make our business card order happen.

Instead, I explained what needed to Becky, an assistant manager. She told me exactly what I needed to know the first time. She apologized that her coworkers had screwed up, and explained that they were getting a lot of new staff on. She did not say this as an excuse, just an explanation.

I will be back there soon to get the order to her. And I am sure it will be done right the first time. Because Becky is on the job.

I still don’t trust Kinko’s. But I trust Becky. And I will be telling everyone up her chain of command how she got the job done the first time, no fuss. And I am talking about her here. When I get her last name and the address of the Kinko’s where she works, I will tell you, so if you need a job done right and you are in the area, you know where you can go.

I am really really easy to please- I just want the job done right, the first time, fast, with no exceptions. See? That wasn’t so hard. And for Becky, it isn’t.

Takehome: for some clients, like me, even when we lose faith in your organization, a new face who performs perfectly can regain that trust, though it will be focused on just that one person.

Takehome #2: meeting expectations is critical. Notice that Becky has not actually done the job yet, just set the expectation that it will be done right the first time. That is the first step, and a good start to doing a job right- but she still has to deliver. Stay tuned.

1 Response to “kinko’s part two: how it should be”


  1. 1 Linda October 20, 2006 at 4:11 am

    Glad you added Takehome #2…I can’t wait to read on and find out if Becky delivered. I cannot tell you how many times I assumed the next person fixed the problem…then found it was not yet fixed.

    I’ve got my fingers crossed!


Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

