start the conversation, by any means necessary

“Are you wearing sandals?”

A somewhat unsual question, as I had just walked by the inquisitor, and he had quite clearly seen that I was wearing sandals. But, his first three attempts to get my attention, “What cell phone do you use?” among them, had not produced the desired result. Hence the question about sandals.

I thought about going back to that cell phone store and talking to the manager and praising this salesman. He gets it- the conversation is the key. If someone is not talking to you, you have no chance of… anything.

How many times does a prospect who is hooked with the sandals question while walking through the mall convert into a sale? I don’t know. Doesn’t matter too much. Because I had already walked by the shop, and he had nothing to lose by making a very small effort to get my attention.

What very small efforts could you make to grab those prospects who are almost out of your reach?

0 Responses to “start the conversation, by any means necessary”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Go to the new blog

I'm now blogging about internet marketing at RedBeardConsulting.com.

Red Beard Consulting

At Red Beard Consulting I work on internet marketing primarily for speakers. I also work with Infusionsoft.

